Dairy Free Sweetened Condensed Milk

SCM

I have a simple enough family to feed in terms of allergies and intolerances – nothing is off limits.  However, this is not the case with our extended family and circle of friends.  Maybe because I’m not used to catering for intolerances, I find that I need to think extra carefully about what I can cook before I visit friends who do need to be careful about what they eat.

My daughter’s favourite cookbook (this month’s favourite anyway!) is a freebie that I was given if I bought three tins of sweetened condensed milk.  That was a fair deal I felt, as we’re sweetened condensed milk lovers in this house.  If you offered any of us caramel or chocolate, we’d run with the caramel.  Anyway, the recipe book is a cracker, and I love it when my daughter experiments in the kitchen.  Last year we were off to visit a friend with a dairy intolerance.  Of all the books my daughter could choose to cook from, this was probably the worst.  Back to the bookshelf went the book.

We’re due to visit this friend again next week, and remembering a recipe that I saw on the Recipe Community for regular sweetened condensed milk, I decided to give a coconut version a try.  I was a little doubtful, however I’m thrilled to say that it worked!

Once cooled, it has the same consistency as regular commercial sweetened condensed milk so I’m convinced it will be a suitable dairy-free replacement.  I expected the coconut flavour to be concentrated, but the flavour is relatively subtle.

Sweetened Condensed Coconut Milk

  • 800ml coconut cream
  • 320g sugar

Place ingredients in bowl and cook for 40 minutes/varoma/speed 4/MC off but strainer over the top of the lid.  This is like molten lava, so be super careful while it’s still hot.

Cool before use.

This recipe makes approximately 500 to 600 grams

~ Justine

 

This entry was posted in Back to Basics, Dessert and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dairy Free Sweetened Condensed Milk

  1. Pingback: Dairy Free Caramel Slice | The Thermomix Diaries

  2. Abigayle says:

    Does it matter what type of sugar? If I used brown sugar would I need to cook it for less?

  3. Kate says:

    it only made about 300gms? Does it make a difference what type of coconut cream you use? eg just the solid stuff from the tin? I made coconut milk as per the Fast and Easy Indian cookbook and used that

    • Hi Kate, I threw in the whole tin rather than just using the cream from the top. I was tempted to keep cooking to reduce it down, but decided that as it was hot, it would likely thicken as it cooled – which it did. I guess the best thing to do is judge your own preferences and tastebuds. I imagine that if you condensed your milk down to 300g that it would have been gorgeously decadent! It would be lovely in little tarts. Mmmm.

  4. Kate says:

    but it is delicious!

  5. I’m so glad you gave it a go and you enjoyed it!

  6. Anna says:

    THANKYOU, sweetened condensed milk spinning around now. Found some soya cream cheese, combine this with teddy bear biscuit base I am going to make a dairy free lemon cheese cake….. I may not share it with the family if it works really well…..

Leave a Reply

