Baked Cinnamon Donuts

2013-01-28 15.31.13

These are as delicious as they look! Trust me :o)

I have been eye-ing off the Baked Donut Trays at Big W for sometime…imagining lovely baked delights I could make for lunchboxes to please my kiddies when we return to school.  So while picking up the last of our school supplies I decided to make a quick detour and picked up a tray.

I have made donut flavoured muffins previously.  I kind of set about using what I liked in several recipes and this is what has resulted. I have made a couple of batches now and have found both dairy free milk and spelt flour are fine when substituting.

2013-01-28 14.14.27   2013-01-28 14.14.50

My first batch I kind of spooned the mix around the donut well, but after doing a bit of research, I decided to fill a freezer bag with batter and ‘pipe’ direct into the donut wells. This proved both more time efficient, as well as resulting in a more rounded top on my donuts.

2013-01-28 14.18.33

2013-01-28 15.04.52

Straight from the oven these donuts are incredible! With the yield of 24 donuts we were able to enjoy half warm and the other half I popped into the freezer.

2013-01-28 15.34.24 Makes 24 donuts (using a 12 donut tray)

Baked Cinnamon Donuts

Ingredients

  • 50g butter
  • 100g raw sugar
  • 70g brown sugar
  • 50g macadamia oil
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 to 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 2/3 cups plain flour (360g)
  • 1 cup milk

Cinnamon Sugar
Blitz 100g raw sugar and 2 teaspoon of cinnamon  5 sec/sp 9

Method

  1. Preheat oven 170-180 degrees (replicate the heat your oven would best bake muffins)
  2. Grease donut wells in donut pan with melted butter.
  3. Soften butter  by mixing for 40sec / 50degrees / speed 4.
  4. Add raw sugar, brown sugar and oil to TM bowl.  Mix for 10 seconds / speed 3.  Scrape down.  Add eggs, one at a time, mix for 10 seconds/speed 3 each. Scrape down.
  5. Add baking powder, baking soda, ground nutmeg, salt, vanilla extract, flour and milk to the TM bowl.
  6. Mix 5 seconds / speed 4.  The batter should look smooth and lump free.
  7. Place a plastic bag in a jug folding edges of bag over edges of jug.  Pour batter into plastic bag. Tie off or twist and fix with a peg.  Snip a corner opening approx 1 cm and use to pipe mixture into donut wells evenly, half fill each well.  Do not over fill.
  8. Bake in an oven for approx 10-15 minutes or until slightly golden in colour.
  9. Turnout donuts immediately onto a cake rack. Add portions of cinnamon sugar as required to a clean freezer bag. While the donuts are warm, add 6 donuts at a time and shake sugar and donuts in sealed bag coating donuts in cinnamon sugar.
  10. Best enjoyed warm, but I have been assured that they are just as yummy cool (quoted by our professional team of TTD testers ‘aka my kiddies’)

Variations

Choc Chip: Add 3/4 cup of choc chips to mix at step 5.

Iced: Make vanilla/chocolate /caramel/ strawberry icing and sprinkle with hundreds and thousands (ice after muffins have cooled on cake rack)

Glazed:  channel your inner Crispy Crème Donut…

  • 1/2 cup (113g) butter
  • 3 cups (375g) powdered sugar
  • 2 1/4 teaspoons vanilla
  • 6 -9 tablespoons (90-135ml) evaporated milk (can substitute regular milk or water for milder flavor)
  • Melt butter in TM bowl as above.  Stir in powdered sugar and vanilla, mix until smooth.  Add milk (or water) and stir until desired consistency is reached.

** I have not tried these variations, but thought they may be worth noting during my (ahem) research**    :o)

~ Karen

This entry was posted in Baking, Sweet Treats, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Baked Cinnamon Donuts

  1. Deeanne A says:

    They look awesome! Think I may have to detour to Big W and pick up one of those trays too and give this recipe a try. Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Karen from TTD says:

    Hi Deeanne! I hope you are as happy with these as I am. It was a real ‘get out!!!’ moment for me being able to ‘bake’ donuts rather than the deep fried option. We think they are a great alternative. Enjoy! ~ Karen

  3. Deeanne A says:

    Well I finally got around to baking these little babies today Karen and they were awesome! So easy to make and the first batch was gone in 10 minutes. Have just made a 2nd batch. Thanks again for sharing!

  4. Katharyn says:

    Thank you for letting me know where to buy the trays! I’ve been making hot pink chilli’s grain free doughnuts as muffins in silicone forms for a while, our family loves them! We are gluten and wheat free and really should be dairy free as well, so I will probably stick to thermomixing up the ones we know, but thanks for the tip on the trays and the piping! That’s Gold! 🙂

  5. These look great. I’ve done the donut muffins before too, which were ok. I can’t wait to give these a go

  6. Nat says:

    Hello. Could you please tell me if the 50g of butter is in the recipe, or is it used just for greasing the tray?

  7. Su says:

    is it possible to change the raw sugar and macadamia oil to caster sugar and vegetable oil respectively without changing the flavour too much? thanks in advance!

    • Karen from TTD says:

      Hi Su…yes caster sugar would be fine, I dont keep caster sugar as I just blitz raw sugar. I am sure you could change the oil, but my preference is macadamia oil. Good luck. K

  8. Lonnib says:

    UHMAZING so easy with standard cupboard ingredients …yummo

  9. Karen from TTD says:

    Reblogged this on The Thermomix Diaries and commented:

    Here is a nice after school snack! These freeze well and the recipe is quite forgiving, I use spelt and GF flours often and they turn out just as perfect! Enjoy! ~ K

  10. Anna says:

    Just made these! Although I didn’t use a donut tin as such (used mini muffin tin) they worked out awesome! scrumptious.

Leave a Reply

