Crazy for Crackers

There are some things in my pantry and refrigerator that I would never have dreamed that I’d prefer to make than purchase.  Yoghurt, stock powder and pastes, muesli bars and cereals.  There are lots of things.  I think the item that I’m most surprised by however, is savoury biscuits.

My husband works hard and has a physical job, so he likes to come home and have a beer and something to nibble on before dinner.  Our cupboard was stocked with chips and crackers to have with cheese or with a dip; full of numbers that I was always too scared to investigate.  We’d tried crudités, but he didn’t want to have to fiddle with that, and I didn’t want to have to chop them while prepping for dinner.

Within week one of owning my Thermomix and having purchased Tenina Holder’s For Food’s Sake, one of the first things I made was the Quinoa and Spelt Crackers.  Little did I know that I was about to start making something that would become a staple in our house.

Throw in the ingredients and a little over a minute later, you have a gorgeous pliable dough to work with.

Raw mix

I often change the recipe and use whatever herbs are flourishing in our garden, but our favourite is still rosemary or thyme.  Sometimes I’ll throw in some dukkah, or I’ll just add a healthy teaspoon of cumin and coriander seeds.  The recipe really is that flexible when it comes to flavourings.  Grated parmesan is another favourite flavour and I love not having to waste the hard edges of the parmesan cheese any more.

Once you’ve got your dough, it’s just a case of rolling it out between sheets of baking paper.  I roll mine as thin as possible as I find this gives the crispest crackers.

Rolling

I’ve tried breaking them up afterwards, but that’s just a little too rustic for us, so I just use a pizza cutter to score the dough.  A quick sprinkle of sea salt flakes or maybe a home-made spice mix, and into the oven they go.

Scoring

This recipe makes a lot of crackers.  I fill a 750g Tupperware container, however they are that delicious that the container empties fairly quickly.

Quinoa and Spelt Crackers

Here is a similar recipe from Tenina’s website if you want to give them a go, however I much prefer the recipe from For Food’s Sake.  If you don’t already have a copy, put it on your wish list.  It really is a cracker of a book.  😉

~ Justine

This entry was posted in For Food's Sake and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crazy for Crackers

  1. He he he, Justine I had a giggle at your closing, they look fantastic, I am excited to give them a try. Thank you for sharing. Tara.

  2. Hey thanks for this…glad you like…I’m not just plain crackers after all! 😀

  3. Karen from TTD says:

    Reblogged this on The Thermomix Diaries and commented:

    We have found making crackers is both both quick and rewarding in our trusty Thermomix. What’s more you can tailor your ingredients to suit your dietary needs. Find out more in our ‘Crazy for Crackers’ post. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

