Sous Vide Scrambled Eggs

I don’t understand why I can’t find dashi powder anywhere, and yet I can stumble across cookbooks by Ferran Adria and Heston Blumenthal in Big-W.  As if I haven’t already spoiled myself rotten with a selection of Thermomix cookbooks, I just couldn’t walk past ‘Heston Blumenthal at Home’ (So cheap!!).  I’m a bit of a Heston groupie and I’m as fascinated by the science behind his cooking, as I am by his food.  One of the books I often flick through is ‘The Fat Duck Cookbook’, although without access to the ingredients or equipment, it’s mainly an ‘oooh’ and ‘ahhh’ type book.

Heston at Home on the other hand is a little more accessible for the home cook.  It still sits on the edge of ‘out there’ techniques and flavour combos, but is modified for the home cook (only just).  You’ll need a fair bit of time for most of the recipes, and you’ll also need access to equipment like a sous vide machine.  Oh – that’s right!  I have my Thermomix which does a similar job! 😉

I thought I’d start out simple with scrambled eggs.  My last batch of scrambled eggs left a difficult to move scorch on the bottom of the bowl, so I was happy to try a different way to cook them.  I’ve modified the recipe to suit the Thermomix and for individual servings.  Here is my version for one.  If you wanted to feed a family of five, you would just multiply the ingredients by five and split between five small ziplock bags.

Scrambled Eggs

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon cream
  • 1 teaspoon milk
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 teaspoon melted butter
  • 1 snack sized ziplock bag

Heat 1.5 litres of water to 80c.  (From cold, it took 7 minutes/80c/soft stir).

Whisk eggs, cream, milk and salt with a stick blender or a whisk.  Add melted butter and whisk.

Pour into a snack-sized ziplock bag and expel all air before closing.

Drop bag into the basket and place into 80c water.  Cook for 15 minutes, massaging the eggs every three minutes.  I have asbestos hands, but you can use a tea-towel if the bag is too hot for you.

Give it a final squish before cutting the corner off the bag and serving.  Bon Appétit!

~ Justine

This entry was posted in Back to Basics, Breakfast and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment